Amazing weather


We are enjoying an amazingly mild January. Mind you, I’m not complaining. I hate snow. Well really, I hate having to bundle up every time I step outside. This year the winter has been really strange; although, that is working in our favor.

Northern lower Michigan is normally buried in snow by this time of year. This year we can still see some grass in patches in the yard, its dead grass but still that’s weird. Much as I hate the cold and snow I do hope that we get some before the winter is over. Otherwise we could be in for a very dry spring and that isn’t good for our plants.

I am really starting to look forward to being able to be out digging again. We have been poring over the plant books. I know we are going to be ordering two re-blooming lilacs. I love lilac bushes but they never stay in flower long enough. They are beautiful for two weeks and smell so fresh, and then all the blossoms die and you are left with a nice green bush. I have never tried the re-blooming ones before, but the nursery book says they should do fine in our zone. I’ll be posting more on them during the summer when we find out how they do.

I should be building up some more muscle this spring as well since we want to get the hole dug for a pond. We haven’t worked out the exact dimensions of it yet. My roommate would like to be able to have fish in it as well as water plants so the pond could end up being a major job.

Leave a Reply

